Thursday, 26 July 2012

Ruby Blue (album)

Ruby Blue is the debut solo album of Irish singer Róisín Murphy, released by Echo Records on 13 June 2005 (see 2005 in music). After she and Mark Brydon dissolved their electronic duo Moloko, Murphy began working with producer and musician Matthew Herbert, known for his musique concrète approach to music. The songs were first released through three extended plays and were then compiled into a studio album.

The album often samples sounds made by everyday objects and actions, including cosmetics, brass mice, dancing and ornaments. It mixes the electronic music for which Moloko was known with jazz and pop styles. The album received positive reviews from music critics.

Ruby Blue was commercially unsuccessful upon its June 2005 European release, charting at No. 88 in the United Kingdom, and fared poorly when released in the United States the next year. It produced two singles, "If We're in Love" and "Sow into You". Songs from the album were used in the television series Grey's Anatomy and So You Think You Can Dance. "Ramalama (Bang Bang)" features in a 2009 advert featuring Anne Hathaway for Lancome.